District Collectorate

The Collectorate play a pivotal role in the District administration. Collector in the Cadre of I.A.S heads the District. He acts as the District Magistrate for maintaining Law and Order in his jurisdiction. He deals mainly with planning and development, law and order, general elections, arms licensing etc. The Additional Collector/District Revenue Officer runs the Revenue Administration under various enactments in the District. He is also designated as Additional District Magistrate. He mainly deals with civil supplies, land matters, mines and minerals, village officers etc.

The District Revenue Officer (DRO) and Deputy Collectors assists the Collector in discharging their duties. The District Revenue Officer looks after all the branches of the Collectorate. He deals mainly with general administration and is vested with supervision of day-to-day functions of the Collectorate.

The Project Director, District Rural Development Agency in the cadres of IAS/DRO , Personal Assistant Panchayat Development in the cadre of Deputy Collector, Municipal commissioners & Executive Officers of Town Panchayats are assisting the collector in panchayat development and urban local body related works.

Revenue and Disaster Management

Sections In Collectorate – Viluppuram Section Name Section Head Subject
1 Section “A” Huzur Sarishtadar, P.A(Gen) All Establishment Matters, Office Procedures
2 Section “B” A.P.A(Lands), Deputy Tahsildar Land – Patta Transfer, Land Transfer, Land Lease and Encrochments
3 Section “C” Huzur Sarishtadar(Magisterial), P.A(Gen) Law & Order, Magisterial (Court/Legal) matters, Detension Act.
4 Section “D” P.A(Accounts), Dy. Tahsildar Accounts, Salary and other Bills
 5 Section “E” Special Dy. Collector(SDC), Dy. Tahsildar, Addl. Dy. Tahsildar  Old Age Pension, C.M. Cell Petition, Public Grievences
6 Section “F” Dy. Tahsildar Fair Copying, Inward Tappal Maintenance and Despatching
7 Section ” G”  A.P.A(Lands), Dy. Tahsildar  Stationery, Library, Maintenance of Gazette Publication, Birth/Death/Nativity Certificate genuiness  verification
8 Section “H”  Dy. Tahsildar Jamabandi, Election, Census
9 Section “I” Dy. Tahsildar VIP Visit, Independence/ Republic  Day Celebrations arrangements,  Department Exams, TNPSC etc
10 Section “J” Dy. Collector(DBCW), Dy. Tahsildar, Spl. Dy.Tahsildar(Scholarship) District Backward class and Minority Welfare
11 Section “K”  District Supply Officer & P.A to D.S.O District Civil Supply Matters
12 Section ” L” Asst. Commissioner(Excise), Dy. Tahsildar Prohibition and Excise
13 Section “M” DADWO, Supdt/Asst.Accounts Officer, Spl. Tahsildar District Adi-Dravidar Welfare
14 Section “N” Dy. Tahsildar  Village Administration, Record Room

Rural Development

PO(DRDA) : Rural Development and Panchayat Raj
PA(NM) : School Noon Meals Related Activites
AD(audit) : Audit and High Level committe
AD(P) : Panchayats Related Activities

District Collectors – Viluppuram District
sl.No Name From to
22. Dr. C.Palani I.A.S 05.02.2023 Till Date
21. Thiru.D.Mohan I.A.S 16.06.2021 04.02.2023
20. Thiru.A.Annadurai I.A.S 18.11.2019 15.06.2021
19. Dr.L.Subramaniyan I.A.S 11.09.2016 17.11.2019
18. Tmt. M.Lakhsmi I.A.S 04.07.2015 11.09.2016
17. Thiru.V.Sampath I.A.S 25.01.2012 30.06.2015
16. Tmt.C.T.Manimekkalai I.A.S 04.06.2011 24.01.2012
15. Dr.R. Palaniswamy I.A.S 11.06.2008 03.06.2011
14. Thiru.Brajendra Navnit I.A.S 13.12.2006 10.06.2008
13. Thiru. Ashish Chatterji I.A.S 25.05.2006 09.11.2006
12. Thiru.K.Balachandran I.A.S 07.6.2004 12.05.2006
11. Dr.K.Gopal I.A.S 20.07.2003 31.05.2004
10. Thiru.A.Mohamed Aslam I.A.S 10.06.2001 18.07.2003
9. Thiru.T.K.Ramachandran I.A.S 30.07.2000 09.06.2001
8. Thiru. Thangaswamy I.A.S 24.04.2000 13.07.2000
7. Thiru. Vibu Naiyar I.A.S 17.09.1999 24.04.2000
6. Thiru. Param Sindhu I.A.S 23.12.1998 17.09.1999
5. Thiru. Adulya Misra I.A.S 07.12.1997 22.12.1998
4. Thiru. Praveen Kumar I.A.S 18.09.1996 06.12.1997
3. Thiru.K.Ramalingam I.A.S 01.06.1996 09.09.1996
2. Thiru. Ashokkumar Gupta I.A.S 18.11.1994 01.06.1996
1. Thiru. Ashokvardhan Shetty I.A.S 30.09.1993 15.11.1994